My Opinion on the Hunger Games: Prim

I love the Hunger Games books. You can see my post from awhile ago on Mockingjay and know that I am not one of those people who just wants to criticize it. However, I just wanted to write about one of my biggest dissatisfactions in the Hunger Games: Prim, Katniss’s twelve-year-old sister. WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS FROM ALL THREE OF THE HUNGER GAMES BOOKS. PLEASE STOP READING IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THEM AND DON’T WANT THE PLOT TO BE SPOILED FOR YOU!

Don’t get me wrong, I think Prim’s a great character. She’s sweet, and offers some great support to Katniss, especially in Mockingjay.  But in the first book especially, she acts like a nine-year-old, not the twelve-year-old that she is. Maybe I’m overreacting, maybe it looks different to people who are not twelve-year-olds themselves when they read this, but that’s just my opinion.

Prim, in many parts of the the book, acts younger than I think a girl her age would act. She begs to see the pretty cakes in the window of the bakery. She sleeps with her mother when she has a nightmare. This is why I like Rue way better. From the beginning, you can see she’s young, but not to be underestimated. “I’m hard to catch. If they can’t catch me they can’t kill me. So don’t count me out.” She’s the kind of character that I see and go, wow, I like her! I want to read more!

On the other hand Prim takes a while to become stronger and more independant. In the first book, she reminds me of a fourth grader, sweet, innocent, and yeah, not that tough. Once again, please, please, PLEASE don’t take this as me not liking Prim, because I do. I just find the fact that she has to act so young a bit annoying.

So yeah, that’s about it. Thanks for reading through all my ranting about disappointing characters and all. I love to hear your opinion, too! What do you think?  Post a comment, and tell me what you think about Prim. You know what, though, she’s pretty fantastic in Mockingjay, don’t you think? She definitely got better as the books progressed. Well, goodbye!

From one book-loving kid to another, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Leave a Reply

