Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins book review

I have recently read Mockingjay, the third book of the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. This is going to be my first review/recommendation, so here goes!

First, I’ll start off with a rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4.4 stars!

And age group (in my opinion): 12+

This is a great book. I could hardly put it down; I just hid in a corner racing through the pages. Like the other Hunger Games books, it showed the power of a bad government. It is really violent and has some sexual content (kisses and a brief mention of a sex slave), so I’d say it’s definitely a teen book, and not really the best for elementary-school aged kids. It is exciting, and has a satisfying ending (which I love!). Read the first two books first, the plot will make way more sense if you do so.

There’s this really great website, www.commonsensemedia.org, that gives ratings of all sorts of books, movies, and songs. It’s great for if you found a book you don’t really know and think it might have some inappropriate content. Anyways, I’m just gonna put a summary of its rating of Mockingjay:

Rating (in stars): same as mine!

Age group: same as mine!

Note: I honestly DID NOT look at their rating first!

So, anyway, it’s a great book. Read the others first (they’re just as good!), and if you’re a kid under 13, ask a parent first.

from one book-loving kid to another, goodbye!

Leave a Reply

